Don’t call me, I’ll call you.

I got in a 415 (That’s a ‘disturbance’. I should have a code list somewhere on my page) with a telemarketer today. She happened to call when I was folding clothes and I had waaaaay too much time on my hands. Stephen & Lara were having their bath time in the city so, I really had no worries.

She wanted me to buy a special credit monitoring service that I would only pay for if I was completely satisfied. These kinds of products are triggered at people who live in fear!

Don’t live in fear, people!

The likelihood of someone out there with your social security number trying to steal from your $100 savings account is slim to none.
I let her know that I already got a yearly credit report, FREE, thanks to a government enacted program that gives everyone a yearly copy from all 3 credit bureaus.

She also told me that this insurance would cover me if anyone used my information fraudulently.
The truth is, the consumer is pretty much always covered. If I am obviously not the one making the purchases, I do not have to pay. American Express, BofA, Visa, or whatever will take the loss.

At the end of the call, I told her she needed to work on her customer service skills because she was not knowledgeable about her product and was confrontational when faced with questions she had no answers to.

The call ended with an expletive and a dial tone.

Stephen can’t believe I harass these poor minimum-wagers like that.
I can’t believe they try to trick unsuspecting consumers into purchasing a product that they will never use.

I say no to telemarketers! I challenge you to take the time and actually talk to them next time they call your home. Maybe we can scare them away and their industry will crumble!

If you have not already done so, stop those annoying phone calls by clicking:

http://www.donotcall.gov/

Leave a comment

Filed under pet peeves

Leave a Reply

