Don’t Hate.

Someone called me a hater this week. The exact words were: “You think that no one can be better than you”. Usually, I take any/all negative (or sometimes even positive) comments or criticism with a grain of salt. I have thicker skin than most people. This time, though, someone that I love and respect called me that. It did not hurt my feelings but, it made me kind of sad that they see me this way. Am I a hater? Do I purposely speak badly about other people for no particular reason?

Lets look at the definition of hater. An online dictionary defines it as:
hater:

A person that simply cannot be happy for another person’s success. So rather than be happy, they make a point of exposing a flaw in that person.Hating, the result of being a hater, is not exactly jealousy. The hater doesnt really want to be the person he or she hates, rather the hater wants to knock someone else down a notch.
Susan: You know, Kevin from accounting is doing very well. He just bought a house in a very nice part of town.
Jane (hater): If he is doing so well why does he drive that ’89 Taurus?

Yes, I must admit, that does sound a bit like me. But, isn’t “hating” telling the truth? Saying what everyone else is thinking but, is too afraid to say!
I don’t believe that what I have/do/like is better than what others have/do/like. But, I realllly love my stuff. I like being me. I would not want to be anyone else.

I like this definition better:
hater:

Overused word that people like to use just because someone else expresses a dislike for a certain individual.

PERSON 1: I don’t like Beyonce’s new song.

PERSON 2: You’re a hater!!!
***Correction***
On a previous post, I talked about one of Lara’s Christmas gifts. I returned that toy I bought at Toys R Us and bought her a cuter one from Baby Style:

Leave a comment

Filed under hater, shopping

Leave a Reply

