NYC- Part 2

I knew this would happen. I got home from work at 0800 this morning. I did not go to sleep until 0900. All I could think of was all of the things I forgot to post about our 1st day. And I thought I had a good memory! Here goes a little bit more info:

  • At the Empire State Building, I was being crushed by all of the tourists onto the concrete wall. Bad news- I rubbed my engagement ring on the concrete and moved one of the prongs. Eeeekkk! I immediately took it off with fear that I would come home diamondless. I had to keep it in my purse for the rest of the trip because I was too afraid to leave it in the hotel room. Don’t’ worry, I got it fixed yesterday. They cleaned it, too! šŸ™‚
  • There weren’t as many transients as I thought there would be. Even in the subways. I was just imagining lots and lots of homeless people, Union Station style. Maybe I wasn’t looking in the right places.

It’s Sunday and that means it’s Jesus day. Unfortunately, I didn’t do enough research to find a church to go worship on Sunday morning- shame on me. We saw one in Times Square later on this week, too bad I we didn’t see it on Sunday. šŸ˜¦ So, we spent Sunday at Central Park! šŸ™‚ It reminded me a lot of Chapultepec in Mexico City. The only difference is that I was very impressed at the juxtaposition of the park nestled in the middle of a bustling city. Chapuletpec park is not surrounded by buildings like CP is.

I spent most of the trip doing this. “Steve, we have to take a break. I need to whip out my guide book”. I’m such a nerd, I know. I can honestly say that I have memorized the map of Manhattan and all of its landmarks. Go ahead, quiz me.

She is going to be a people watcher, like her parents. She loves to observe and soak in the sights. What a tourist! šŸ˜‰


This is typical CP: the tunnels.

The CP carousel. For some reason, we thought it was an outdoor one. Nope, it’s indoor. It smells in there, too. It went very fast…I was scared.

One of the best things about NYC is the random things that you can unexpectedly come across. Example: a bunch of people trying to hula hoop by Bethseba’s Fountain. Who supplied all of these hoops? We didn’t try with fear that I might fall and cause a spectacle.

I bought this strawberry fruit bar for Lara and ended up eating it myself. Yummie!

Behind Alice in Wonderland. Beautiful. It was too hot for her to sit on, though. ;( That would have been a perfect photo!


Another impressive thing was the multitude of playgrounds, on almost every corner. We tried to stop by ever single one, so she could release some of that energy she had pent up from being strapped in her stroller. This is one of the many play areas in CP. They had the nicest set ups and were completely enclosed, unlike the parks in Pasadena. I liked that, a lot.

Her fav, the swing. She says, “Up, down” as she pumps her legs. She demands of us, “Push me, please, push me!”. I love the simple joy that it brings her.

We walked out of the park to an Upper East Side diner for lunch. On the way, we came across this. OMG. The problems these would cause me if they were in Pasadena. “Umm, hi, I need the police. I don’t know where I am. Can you help me?”. OMG. All I can say is, Thank You to the City of Pasadena for not installing these!

Waiting to order. She looks a little bit like me, right??

My sandwich. I had to LOL when it came. This looks like something my mom would have made me. I wasn’t expecting it.

The MET. We were SO excited to get to go in there! All I could think of was The Thomas Crowne Affair. I love that movie! Stephen stood in line to pay while I walked around the lobby (losing one of Lara’s clippies in the process). Once he paid, he walked towards me:

Him: Did you notice the price?

Me: Yup, $20/ person. A lot, huh?

Him: Yeah. It is actually the suggested amount, I could have paid anything I wanted!

Me: What! Please tell me you said $5-$10/each!

Him: No, of course not. I paid $20/each. What would you have done????

Me: Paid $20/each.

Him: That’s what I thought.

SO MANY BEAUTIFUL THINGS IN THERE!

We both got a kick of this, LOL.

Van Gogh! Where is his ear??

Taking another little break, to check the map!

The view from the top of the MET.

Another break…


Doesn’t this look like a painting? It’s the sheep meadow. It used to be an actual sheep meadow, back in the day. Beautiful, huh? So many people!
Our 1st Official NYC Hot Dog.
Strawberry Fields Forever. There were a bunch of hippies smoking out and singing Beatles songs here. LOL. I felt like I walked into a time warp.

Yes, we took an overpriced carriage ride ($40/20 minutes!). We had to. Lara saw it and asked, “Mommy, please? Horse? Please? Go to horse? Please?” Of course, Lara, whatever you say. It’s your vacation, too!
That’s us!!!
We ate at a delicious French Cafe right across the street from our hotel! How convenient is that? That was the best Minestrone of my whole life.

Bye-Bye dinner!
There goes Lara’s new F.A.O. kitty cat. šŸ˜‰

And, there goes Stephen, relaxing his tired toes with some good old Olympics. Another satisfying NYC excursion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

