I think the camera is making me lazy. All this “photo” blogging has taken away from what I want to do with his blog which is, write!!! I’m going to re-focus and stop relying on photos so much. Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good Lara pic. Next time there will be a paragraph (instead of a one-liner) describing the events that led up to the photo.

Here are a few things I am battling with this week:

  • Pleasure reading v. Educational reading. My school work has greatly affected my ability to sit down and enjoy a good book. Every time I do, I feel guilty for not spending my time reading my text books. And, you know what ends up happening? I read nothing. So, this week I will start a new book, probably Twilight (thanks geefunk, your mention of it got me thinking). I want to know what all the hubbub is about.
  • Thanksgiving greeting cards. I have been looking around town for a cute boxed set of Turkey Day greeting cards. No luck. I may have to go with my usual standby, The Lighthouse. The only problem is that although the message is there, the style usually falls flat.
  • Spring ’09. It’s time to start thinking about which courses to take next semester. I will be taking Winter off (for my sanity). Spring, however, was supposed to be the semester I kick it into gear and sign up for at least 3 classes. I am so close to the number of English courses that say, “I am a serious prospective UCLA student and you know you want me there”. I just can’t seem to be able to choose between spending time with Lara and going to school almost full time. I think it has to do with my intention to put her into pre-school next year. It feels like her toddlerhood is slipping through my fingers.
  • Election Day. I don’t know what I am going to do if McCain is elected. I really think it will spiral things out of control in this country. Is it too late for me to get dual citizenship and try my luck in Mexico? If forced to, I bet Stephen and I would make fantastic ranch hands. Time to start teaching Lara some Espanol.
  • Trees. We are finally going to remove 3 of the 6 trees that are plaguing our property. And by plague, I mean doing terrible, terrible things to my morale when I walk past them.
  • Cleanliness. I had a friend unexpectedly stop by today, before I started work. The house was not at it’s worst but, it was definitely pretty bad (by a normal person’s standards). And, you know what? The mess did not embarrass me. I had no interest in cleaning it up and I do not feel like it defines me. Should I care more? I mean, if I dedicate 2 hours to cleaning up, Stephen and I might miss that movie we want to see. Or, Lara and I won’t spend the extra time at the park. Or, I won’t be able to do all that reading I told you about. I just can not consciously bump cleaning up on the priorities hierarchy.
  • Christmas. Why is it taking so long? Hello? Hurry up and get here already. I love you!
Leave a comment

Filed under blogger's block, Christmas, school, Thanksgiving, Tree, vote

Leave a Reply

